Text size:  A  A  A  A 

The physical body is made up of five elements namely - Air, Water, Fire, Earth and Aakash . A mudra is a gesture or positioning of the hands intended to direct energy flow and to connect parts of the body to the brain as life force energy flows through the body. Certain yoga mudras are believed to instigate particular energy flows and stimulate different emotions, spiritual reactions and reactions in the body. By pressing together, curling, touching or pointing different fingers or parts of the hands in different ways, you can stimulate reflexes from the hand to the brain.

Mudras are easy to perform at anytime, although sitting in the lotus position and focusing on the healing can be an advantage.
Although mudras can be used for healing certain ailments, regular practise of mudras will contribute to your overall good health and can be used as a preventive measure.

Five Fingers for Five Elements:
  1. Thumb Fire
  2. Index Air
  3. Middle Aakash
  4. Ring Earth
  5. Little Water

Type of Mudras:
  1. Abhaya Mudra Abhaya in Sanskrit means fearlessness, and the abhaya mudra symbolizes protection, peace, and the dispelling of fear. The gesture is made with the right hand raised to shoulder height, arm bent, and palm facing outward.

  2. Apaan Mudra The tip of the thumb is joined with the tips of the ring and middle fingers while keeping the remaining two fingers straight. Apaan is beneficial for the body as it cleanses it by eliminating all waste products produced by the body. It is particularly useful for people suffering from problems related to urination and constipation.

  3. DHYAAN Mudra Sitting cross-legged. Place hands in Gyan Mudra, on your knees. Right palm should rest on top of the left palm in Gyan mudra

  4. Gyan Mudra Also known as the Om Mudra, it is accomplished by joining the tips of the thumb and index finger to make an "O" shape. Used along with meditation, gyaan is very useful in gaining inner peace and tranquility. Therapeutically, it proves to be of great value for the treatment of psychological ailment as it promotes a sense of happiness, hones the memory and develops the intellect of the yogi.

  5. Linga Mudra. A complex Mudra achieved by interlocking the hands, Ling is a great way of raising body heat, which in turn is therapeutically beneficial for relieving cold and flu symptoms from within the body, without the use of external medication.

  6. Prithvi Mudra - An easier Mudra done by joining the ring finger and the thumb together, it promotes feelings of happiness and assists in giving power to the entire body.

  7. Shunya Mudra - It means zero or sky. It also signifies the highest forces.

  8. Surya Mudra- Touch the third (ring) finger to the pad of thumb. Press the thumb gently over this third (ring) finger. Keep the other fingers aloof.

  9. Varuna Mudra- Mudras, the science of hand and finger postures, can help you to cure bodily ailments in a wonderful manner. It actually helps in balancing the five elements ( panch-tattvas ) in the human system to their optimal levels. The elements can even be increased or decreased to cure appropriate ailments. When the elements are completely balanced, the yoga (unison) of mind, body and soul with the Supreme Soul can be achieved!

  10. Vaayu Mudra- Bend the index finger of each hand until its tip touches the ball of the thumb. Press the thumb lighting on to the index finger and keep the other three fingers extended but relaxed.
copyright 2009 yogasanjivani.com